Welcome to NZ Gaskets. Log In


Zetec / Duratec Engine identification. 07 April 2014

One of the more common queries we encounter is how to identify the Ford Zetec and Duratec engines so as to be able to supply the correct parts.


One thing to keep in mind is that Ford, confusingly, badged some models with “ZETEC” but this referred to the “Trim Level” and nothing to do with the engine type .... this article explains. 


Zetec name as a trim level

In 1998, Ford of Britain applied the Zetec name to a trim level in the Fiesta range, replacing the Si. Petrol variants of the Fiesta LX were also renamed 'Zetec LX,' although this ceased within months.

Since then, the Zetec name has become a key staple of the Ford trim level hierarchy, serving as the sports-styled variant in most ranges. In October 1998, the then-newly launched Focus also used the name; and the Mondeo and Galaxy ranges also adopted the name before the decade was out.

Ford's 'niche' models, such as the Ka and Fusion did not initially adopt the name, although even these models now include Zetec-badged variants.

Nowadays, the Zetec name is used exclusively in a trim level capacity, with no engines called as such. Zetec models are often seen as the staple of Ford's ranges, with Ford often creating 'spin-offs' of Zetec models and running promotions on Zetec models in the range. Every passenger vehicle in the Ford of Britain range - bar the Ford Focus Coupé-Cabriolet - now includes a Zetec badged model; the same cannot be said of any other Ford trim level.

Such aforementioned 'spin-offs' of the core Zetec model include the Zetec S (Fiesta, Focus and the 2000-2007 Mondeo), Zetec S 30th Anniversary Edition (2005-2008 Fiesta), Zetec S Celebration Edition (2005-2008 Fiesta), Zetec S Red (2005-2008 Fiesta), Zetec Nav (2000-2007 Mondeo), Zetec LX (1995-1999 Fiesta), Zetec Blue (Fiesta) and a key version, the Zetec Climate (1996-2009 Ka, 2002-2008 Fiesta, Fusion and the 2005-2008 Focus).




To identify these engines keep the following in mind.


This is a general guide only as there are variations depending on Model Type. Always check the engine code to confirm identification.


Zetec Engines are a belt drive engine with a cast iron block and alloy cylinder head.

Duratec Engines are a chain drive engine with alloy block and cylinder head.

The identifying engine code (such as NGA, CJBA, FYDA etc) can be found on the front of the engine stamped into the webbing in front of the bell housing (shown circled in red).

The engine size is cast into the block (circled in green) but this is usually obscured by the exhaust manifold.


Mobile Catalogue Available. 20 November 2013

Did you know that our extensive catalogue was available on your mobile device!

Simply point your mobile device's web browser to http://www.nzgaskets.co.nz/mobile/  

The mobile site brings you to a different interface that puts the complete product catalogue right at your finger tips - a wonderful new tool for anyone on the go.